Battle From Within

The alarm blares but despite its urgent prompt I drift back to sleep
Lightning flashes and thunder threatens to thrash me into the deep
Every night is a battle before- finally defeated- I lay down my head
Bartering with myself, I trade daily sorrows for nightmares in bed

The storm rages its traumatic tumult
A screaming match between Sound and Mind
The space between suggests insanity
while the words themselves speak one at a time

Sound is sturdy yet desperately restless
Dually defined, stirring conflict and confusion
Mind argues with Sound's logical absence
Failing to find a permanent solution

The result is the space between's rise to victory
Engulfing my world in silent psychosis
As Sound and Mind destroy each other's dignity
I am sucked into a whirlpool, my prognosis

 

Leave a Reply

